WRONG ALIBI by Christina Dodd

From New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd comes an all-new thriller featuring a bold and brash female protagonist, a brutal and twisty murder that will have readers turning the pages and a villain that will have them keeping the lights on at night. WRONG ALIBI is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter, and Sandra Brown.


WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie’s escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…

“This is Dodd at her brilliant best.”
Booklist (starred review) on Strangers She Knows

MY THOUGHTS:I throughly enjoyed this book. It was a bit slow to start for me but I’m so glad I kept on reading. It picked up and took off like I couldn’t believe. It had so much going on and so many twists and turns to keep everyone happy.

“Sometimes God gives a second chance. It’s up to you to be worthy.” Quote from a doctor in this book! Good one!

Evelyn Jones/Petie was alone. Facing a very uncertain future. She got a break she certainly wasn’t expecting when Donald White offered her a job as his bookkeeper. She was just released from juvenile detention for her involvement in a drive by shooting. Not the shooter or the driver. Just a girl without any luck. Seems her mother was deserting her also. She told Evie to not come back once she was released. I liked Evelyn/Petie very much. With all she goes through she is a strong female. Even when she thinks she can’t be she is.

Donald White was a jerk. I saw him coming a mile away. To me it was obvious what he was going. Maybe not everything but a big part of it. He was a mystery. No one ever saw him or even truly knew of him except Evie/Petie. He was a bit of a loner for sure. I fully detested this man. I thought he was a coward. But he was also a sociopath so there was that.

Ioana is Evelyn/Petie’s mother. I didn’t like her for a while but then she kind of grew on me. She didn’t want Evie/Petie around to ruin her younger sister’s life. To me she was turning her back on Evie for Marya. Marya is Evelyn/Petie’s sister. No mother should make such a big difference between her children. If Evie had been nothing but trouble maybe I would have understood it better but this it seems was the first trouble Evie had been in. She had spent four years in juvie. Released when she turned eighteen.

Zone was the man looking for Petie. He found out she had murdered his wife and very young son. Left them to rot in the basement. He wanted justice. He wanted vengeance. He was so filled with anger and hate for this woman who took his world away. But I liked Zone. I felt bad for him.

Then there is Tuddy. I absolutely liked Tuddy. He got on my nerves at times but he was still my second favorite character in this book.

This book is about a murder. A young woman who just wants a fresh start in life. A family who suffers the ultimate. Actually make that two families. A man who will use anyone to get what he wants. A very crooked cop. Wretchen Gretchen… I hated her! From the freezing dead of winter in Alaska this story unfolds. It’s like watching a movie in your heard. Trying to figure out why things happen. Who helped. Will they survive. You know from fairly early on who the bad guy is but still you wonder when Evie/Petie will be found. When will they catch her and make her pay.

Thank you #NetGalley, #ChristinaDodd, #HQNpublishers for this ARC. This is my own thoughts about this book.

4/5 stars and a high recommendation. Read it. Love it. Enjoy!

Published by Linda Moore

I’m an avid reader and leave reviews on every book I read. I love reading and you will hardly ever see me without my kindle. I have an active blog at: https://lsmoore49.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Twisted in Pages

Book reviews and book talk

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

One Book More

Another Book, Another Destiny...

Jeeves Reads Romance

Voracious Romance Reader • Honest Reviewer

The Wickeds

Wicked Good Mysteries

Musings of a Book Savant

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” ― Jane Austen

Crime Cymru

The Welsh Crime Writing Collective

Vania Margene Rheault

Independent Contemporary Romance Author & Blogger

TaSTy WordGasms

a blog for lovers of the written word

Hawthorn Book Reviews

Ignore the Things You Have to Do and Just Enjoy a Book or Two.

BOOKS FROM DUSK TILL DAWN

Each night I TRAVEL THE WORLD, I LIVE IN THE MIND OF KILLERS AND WALK AT THE SIDE OF HEROES

Northern Reader

A book blog by Joules Barham

scryptogram

Novel ideas. The blog of a first time novelist.

Book Boyfriend And Husband Make Three

Book Dragon, devouring books one steamy read at a time.

I Read Ergo Sum

"I cannot live without books" - Thomas Jefferson

Jen Med's Book Reviews

Musings and Ramblings of a Disorganised Blogger

kimewells

Books, Family, Politics, and Regular Life

books.tea.and.me

Welcome to my book-blog. I spend as much time as I can within the pages of a book and hope you'll get some reading inspiration from my library. Catch me on Instagram as well as books.tea.and.me - I'm always looking for recommendations!

Vonda's Literary Cathedral

Books take us from our mundane life

Hobo Movie

Movies Review in the Hindi Language

Elaine Howlin

lost in the pages of books

Words And Peace

Book reviews and good books for you to read

The Reluctant Retiree

Stories from Garrulous Gwendoline - a baby boomer surviving retirement

A Web of Stories

Life is a web of stories

Cozynookbks

Living in my own book world

Poetica~Place

Home of Middle Island Press, the Red Salon, and Coffee with the Poets

%d bloggers like this: